Lunar eclipse 2019: What time is the lunar eclipse tonight? July eclipse time and date

A lunar eclipse combines together the Sun, the Earth and the Moon to visibly darken and redden the Moon. Tonight’s eclipse is a partial one, meaning only a fraction of the Moon’s glowing face will vanish in the Earth’s shadow. But the astronomical spectacle promises to be breathtaking regardless and the eclipse will be visible over large parts of the globe. Read on below to find out when and where the lunar eclipse will appear tonight.

What time is the lunar eclipse tonight?

The lunar eclipse will undergo a number of stages that will clock in altogether at more than five hours.

These eclipses stages include penumbral eclipsing, partial eclipsing and so-called maximum eclipse.

Maximum eclipse will mark the midway point of the event when the Moon is closest to the centre of the Earth’s shadow.

Tonight, the lunar eclipse week peak at around 10.30pm BST (9.30pm UTC).

But what about the other eclipse stages? What time are they?

Penumbral eclipsing will kick off today around 7.43pm BST (6.43pm UTC).

Unfortunately, here in the UK, the Moon will not make an appearance over the horizon until after 9.06pm BST (8.06pm UTC).

Once the Moon does rise, it will already be eclipses and darkened.

Partial eclipsing of the Moon will begin below the horizon around 9pm BST (8pm UTC).

Then, maximum eclipse will peak near the horizon in the southeast skies,

We will only see a little over 60 percent of the surface of the Moon

Royal Observatory Greenwich

After that, partial eclipsing will start to recede until it ends around 11.59pm BST (10.59pm UTC).

Penumbral eclipsing – the weakest part of the eclipse – will end at 1.17am BST (12.17am UTC).

Once the eclipse wraps, space agency NASA expects the next lunar eclipse to make an appearance on January 10, 2020.

Unfortunately, the next eclipse will be a penumbral one in the Earth’s weakest shadow, meaning it will likely not be visibly different from a regular Full Moon.

Where will the lunar eclipse be visible tonight?

Tonight’s lunar eclipse will pass over most of the world while excluding North America from watching a glimpse.

According to the Royal Observatory Greenwich in London, the eclipse will pass over Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia and South America.

Arica, the Middle East and parts of West India are best positioned today to see the eclipse from start to finish.

The Royal Observatory said: “At maximum, we will only see a little over 60 percent of the surface of the Moon through Earth’s full show and appear red.

“The other part of the Moon will still appear silvery grey because sunlight is still reflecting off that part of the Moon.”

Source: Read Full Article