THE Royal Standard flag is flown when the Queen is in residence in one of the Royal Palaces.

The Royal Standard represents the Sovereign and the United Kingdom; since the Union of the Crowns in 1603, it has taken various different forms. 

🔵 Read our Royal Family live blog for the latest updates

What is the Royal Standard flag?

The Royal Standard flag represents the Sovereign and the United Kingdom, and is flown when the Queen is in residence in one of the Royal Palaces.

In the version of the Standard used today, there are four quarterings:England, represented by three lions passant, in the first and fourth quarters; Scotland, a lion rampant, in the second; and Ireland, shown by a harp, in the third quarter.

Wales is not represented in the Royal Standard, as its special position as a Principality was recognised by the creation of the Prince of Wales before the incorporation of the quarterings for Scotland and Ireland in the Royal Arms. 

The standard is also flown on the Queen’s car on official journeys and on her aircraft, when grounded.

In Scotland a different version of the Royal Standard is used, with Scottish arms in the first and fourth quarters and English arms in the second.

What was on Prince Philip's coat of arms?

Prince Philip's funeral took place on Saturday, April 17, 2021.

The Duke of Edinburgh's personal standard flag was draped over his coffin, paying tribute to his birth heritage as a Prince of Greece and Denmark, as well as his family name and Edinburgh title.

The first three quarters of the flag show the Duke's lineage.

Blue lions and red hearts on a yellow background represent Denmark and a white cross on blue represents Greece.

The Duke's anglicised family name Mountbatten was represented with two black "pales" or stripes on white.

The fourth quarter of the flag contains the arms of the City of Edinburgh.

Which flag means the Queen is in Buckingham Palace?

The Royal Standard is flown at Buckingham Palace only when the Queen is present.

Unlike the Union flag, the Royal Standard is never flown at half mast, even after the death of a monarch.

If the Union Jack is flown above the palace instead of the Standard, the Queen is elsewhere.

When the Queen goes to Parliament, the Royal Standard flies from Victoria Tower.

Can anyone fly the Royal Standard flag?


According to the Flag Institute, the Royal Standard can only be flown when the Queen is present, and after consultation with the Lord Chamberlain’s Department or the Royal person’s private secretary.

The flag is never hoisted when the Queen is passing in procession.  

    Source: Read Full Article