Food recalls aren't that 'common' says expert
ASK Italian has issued an urgent recall for a selection of its Christmas crackers after the brand discovered a major allergen warning was missed off packaging. The Italian food specialist is recalling Ask Italian Christmas Crackers because the chocolates in the cracker contains peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten) and may contain almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten) not mentioned on the label.
This could cause a major health concern for anyone with an allergy to almonds (nuts), peanuts and/or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to barley (gluten), eggs, oats (gluten) and wheat (gluten) who consumes the chocolates.
According to the food Standards Agency, the product was “mis-packaged with the incorrect chocolates”.
In an official risk statement, ASK Italian said: “We are recalling ASK Italian Christmas Crackers because the chocolates in the cracker contains peanuts, soya, barley (gluten), eggs, wheat (gluten) and may contain almonds (nuts) and oats (gluten) not mentioned on the label.
“This means the product is a possible health risk for anyone with an allergy to almonds (nuts), peanuts and/or soya, and/or an allergy or intolerance to barley (gluten), eggs, oats (gluten) and wheat (gluten).”
We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.
The recall specifically applies to Christmas crackers with the expiration date of September 2021.
The crackers are packaged in a dark green casing with red and white detailing.
They are also labelled with the brand name “ASK Italian” on the main body of the cracker.
Many of these Christmas crackers will have been sold in ASK Italian restaurants.
Food recall: Tesco issues urgent warning amid serious health fears [WARNING]
Food recall: Marks & Spencer and Ocado issue serious allergy warning [INSIGHT]
Aldi launches affordable fitness range including rowing machine [DEAL]
Customers who have purchased the recalled crackers are entitled to a full refund.
They should return the crackers to the restaurant from which they were purchased.
The brand is also warning customers with the listed allergies not to eat the chocolates, however the allergy warning was not issued until December 30 – five days after Christmas.
The company has also issued point-of-sale notices in stores and suppliers to advise customers of the recall.
According to the Good Standards Agency: “Sometimes there will be a problem with a food product that means it should not be sold.
“Then it might be ‘withdrawn’ (taken off the shelves) or ‘recalled’ (when customers are asked to return the product).
“Sometimes foods have to be withdrawn or recalled if there is a risk to consumers because the allergy labelling is missing or incorrect or if there is any other food allergy risk.
“When there is a food allergy risk, the FSA will issue an Allergy Alert.”
Recently Nudie Snacks were also forced to recall a batch of Protein Balls over allergy concerns.
According to the brand, a small number of packs may contain the “presence of milk” which is not declared on the packaging.
The protein balls are also advertised as vegan, therefore the milk inclusion may present a concern for those who avoid animal products.
This could pose a potential health risk to anyone with an allergy or intolerance to milk constituents.
Source: Read Full Article