‘Nomadland’ Triumphs at Alliance of Women Film Journalists Awards (EXCLUSIVE)

The Alliance of Women Film Journalists has announced its 2020 AWFJ EDA winners, where the most-nominated film “Nomadland” walked away with six categories including best film, actress (Frances McDormand) and cinematography (Joshua James Richards). Filmmaker Chloé Zhao won three individual prizes for directing, adapted screenplay and editing.

The AWFJ recognizes the year’s best regardless of gender in the conventional “best of” categories and this year, women dominated on both sides. In a change from years prior, Jennifer Merin, founder and film critic, says, “we decided to exclude women who won Best Of Awards from competition in our Female Focus Award categories.”

Other winners included Chadwick Boseman (“Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom”) and Leslie Odom Jr. (“One Night in Miami”) in lead and supporting actor while Yuh-Jung Youn (“Minari”) won best supporting actress, surpassing Maria Bakalova (“Borat Subsequent Moviefilm”) in wins so far this awards season.

See the full winners list below.


(These awards are presented to women and/or men without gender consideration)

Best Film

  • “Minari” (A24)
  • “Never Rarely Sometimes Always” (Focus Features)
  • “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – WINNER
  • “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
  • “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)
  • “The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)

Best Director 

  • Emerald Fennell, “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features)
  • Regina King, “One Night in Miami” (Amazon Studios)
  • Kelly Reichardt, “First Cow” (A24)
  • Aaron Sorkin, “The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix)
  • Chloé Zhao, “Nomadland” (Searchlight Pictures) – WINNER

Best Actor

  • Riz Ahmed, “Sound of Metal” (Amazon Studios)
  • Chadwick Boseman, “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom” (Netflix) – WINNER
  • Delroy Lindo, “Da 5 Bloods” (Netflix)

Best Actress 

Best Actor in a Supporting Role 

Best Actress in a Supporting Role

Best Screenplay, Original 

  • “Mank” (Netflix) – Jack Fincher
  • “Promising Young Woman” (Focus Features) – Emerald Fennell – WINNER
  • “The Trial of the Chicago 7” (Netflix) – Aaron Sorkin

Best Screenplay, Adapted

Best Animated Film

Best Cinematography 

Best Editing 

Best Documentary 

Best Non-English-Language Film

Best Ensemble Cast – Casting Director


(These awards honor WOMEN only, excluding women who’ve won the category in the Best Of Awards.

Best Woman Director 

Best Woman Screenwriter 

Best Animated Female 

Best Woman’s Breakthrough Performance 

Outstanding Achievement by a Woman in the Film Industry 


Grand Dame Award for defying ageism.

Most Egregious Lovers’ Age Difference Award 

She Deserves A New Agent Award 

Most Daring Performance Award 

Time Waster Remake or Sequel Award 

AWFJ Hall of Shame Award 

  • Shia LeBoeuf for his ongoing abusive behavior
  • Christopher Nolan for insisting that “Tenet” be screened exclusively in theaters during a pandemic. – WINNER (tie)
  • Dallas Sonnier and Adam Donaghey at Cinestate for sexual harassment, abuse and cover-up. – WINNER (tie)

AWFJ is an international association of professional female movie critics, reporters and feature writers working in print, broadcast and online media. The EDAs are named in honor of AWFJ founder Jennifer Merin’s mother, Eda Reiss Merin, a stage, film and screen actress whose career spanned more than 60 years. A dedicated foot soldier in the industry, Eda was one of the founders of AFTRA and a long-standing member of AMPAS.

Source: Read Full Article

Previous post UK to enter third national lockdown as coronavirus spirals out of control
Next post National lockdown: Work, exercise & getting food – all the reasons you can leave home under new lockdown measures