HONG KONG is the latest country to ban Brits due to surging Omicron cases.

The country is suspending all flights from the UK from Saturday, January 8.

The flight ban will remain in place for two weeks as Hong Kong tries to curb the spread of Omicron.

Seven other countries have been added to Hong Kong's inbound flight ban – the US, France, Australia, Canada, India, Pakistan and the Philippines.

Hong Kong's ban comes as the latest travel blow for Brits hoping to go abroad.

Yesterday, popular holiday destination Cyprus added the UK to its red list in a bid to reduce the spread of Omicron.

All travellers aged 12 and above arriving into Cyprus must complete an online form and have a negative PCR test result taken within 48 hours before departure.

Travellers must then take a second PCR test as soon as they land at the airport in Cyprus and self-isolate until they receive their test result.

Most read in News Travel


Butlin's holidays are just £17.25pp this year – how to find the cheapest deals


Why you should NEVER wear shorts on a plane, according to a flight attendant


Another popular European holiday hotspot introduces new travel rules


The holiday hotspot that has banned McDonald’s

However, there may be some holiday hope for Brits with plans to get away.

Pre-departure tests are expected to be scrapped today, so Brits will no longer be required to take a Covid test before entering the UK.

The rules were introduced in December to try to limit the spread of Omicron.

But with the new variant now prevalent across the country, ministers are expected to scarp the controversial test.

Transport Secretary Grant Shapps is expected to support the new relaxed measures during a cabinet meeting today.

Yesterday, Germany lifted the UK travel ban, just weeks after it was introduced.

Brits wanting to visit the country will no longer have to quarantine or have a negative Covid test if they are fully vaccinated.

France continues to ban all non-essential travel to and from Britain.

We've rounded up the Covid travel rules for popular holiday destinations.

Here's the full list of countries Brits are banned from due to Covid restrictions.

    Source: Read Full Article