Austin Butler is set to receive the Breakthrough Performance Award for his performance in “Elvis” at the Palm Springs International Film Awards.

“Austin Butler commands the screen with a larger-than-life performance as Elvis Presley in Baz Luhrmann’s spectacular film Elvis. The heart and soul of the movie, Butler’s dedication to this role shows in the nuances he brought to the character, seen through multiple decades of the often-tumultuous life Elvis lived, as well as the sprawling live performances where Austin embodies the iconic artist in a way previously unseen on the big screen,” festival chairman Harold Matzner said in a statement. “We are honored to present the Breakthrough Performance Award to Austin Butler.”

In July, Butler won the best actor award for his role as Elvis from the Hollywood Critics Association. His upcoming projects include “Dune: Part Two,” “Masters of the Air” and “The Bikeriders.”

The Palm Springs International Film Awards will take place on Jan. 5 at the Palms Springs Convention Center, with the festival running through Jan. 16.

Roadside Attractions Acquires “Moving On,” Starring Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin

Roadside Attractions will release Paul Weitz’s “Moving On,” starring Jane Fonda and Lily Tomlin.

The comedy film follows Fonda and Tomlin as estranged pals who reunite to seek revenge on the petulant widower (Malcolm McDowell) of their recently deceased friend. Zach Schiller, David Boies, Tyler Zacharia, Dan Balgoyen and Britta Rowings serve as executive producers, while Andrew Miano, Stephanie Meurer, Chris Parker, Dylan Sellers and Weitz produce.

“Moving On” will be released in theaters March 17.

American Society of Cinematographers to Honor Stephen Goldblatt with Lifetime Achievement Award

The American Society of Cinematographers will honor the careers of members Stephen Goldblatt, Darius Khondji, Fred Murphy, Charlie Lieberman and Sam Nicholson at the 37th Annual Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography Gala.

ASC will present Goldblatt with the Lifetime Achievement Award; Khondji with the International Award; Murphy with ASC Career Achievement in Television Award; Lieberman with the Presidents Award; and Nicholson with the Curtis Clark ASC Technical Achievement Award.

Goldblatt’s credits include “Get On Up,” “The Help,” “Julie & Julia,” “Closer,” “Charlie Wilson’s War and “Lethal Weapon.” His work on “Batman Forever” and “The Prince of Tides” earned him Oscar and ASC Award nominations, and his contributions to “Angels in America,” “Path to War” and “Conspiracy” scored him multiple Emmy nominations.

The ASC awards ceremony will take place at the Beverly Hilton on March 5.

Read More About:

Source: Read Full Article